Be like me

Hey there kids don’t you want to be like me,
Get your big house, big car and big TV,
So don’t tell me you don’t want to be like me,
I’ve corrupted you so only the dollar you see,

Money, money everywhere but not a drop to drink,
Not a piece of land to own and not a thought to think,
Money, money everywhere but no more bread to eat,
No more oil to help get around and no shoes for our feet,

With everything that the world has why are we left alone,
With no internet and no I-pad not even a simple phone,
The selfish and manipulative have corrupted all our eyes,
So we don’t see the starving on the street or the constant suicides,

But still the bankers say, still they make the call,
Spilling mistrust from their pours, stealing all our souls,

Hey there kids don’t you want to be like me,
Get your big house, big car and big TV,
So don’t tell me you don’t want to be like me,
I’ve corrupted you so only the dollar you see,

With music set to selling units and meaning left alone,
With bankers getting reimbursed but children dumped from home,
With wars occurring through radio waves spilling tons of hate,
And love being sold like radio and lust used as bait,

Why can’t we see that the path is filled with metal traps?
And the blood we’ve spilled from each other has eroded all the maps,
With sisters sleeping on the road with dogs between their feet,
And brothers fighting against the cold, the wind, the rain, the sleet,

But still the bankers say, still they make the call,
Spilling mistrust from their pours, stealing all our souls,

Hey there kids don’t you want to be like me,
Get your big house, big car and big TV,
So don’t tell me you don’t want to be like me,
I’ve corrupted you so only the dollar you see,

Leave a Reply

